Renewal: the price can rise, cover can shrink, and renewing can count as agreeing

Warning: One of the most dangerous traps. Every example below comes from an insurer or regulator document, linked next to the quote. All traps

A policy renews every year, and most policies we read let the insurer change the price, the limit, the deductible, the reimbursement percentage or the terms at each renewal. Often all it has to do is put the new terms in the renewal notice, and in several policies renewing counts as your agreement. If your pet already has a chronic illness, switching will not help: a new insurer will exclude it as pre-existing.

How it works

A pet insurance policy runs for a year. Then it renews, usually automatically. Three things happen at renewal.

  1. The price rises with age. Many insurers raise the premium as the pet gets older, even when general rates have not changed. In MetLife’s Arizona rate manual the age factor for a French Bulldog rises at every renewal from age 3 to age 14. General rate increases come on top. Embrace’s site and the Pennsylvania disclosures of Figo, ASPCA and Nationwide say the premium may rise with the pet’s age (ASPCA: “Insurance plan premiums will increase as the covered pet gets older”).
  2. The terms change. Most policies we read say outright that at renewal the insurer may change the price, limits, deductible and other terms. Often no notice period is set; the policy says only that you will be told in writing.
  3. Renewing means agreeing. Nationwide’s policies and the Independence American form used by Pumpkin, Spot and ASPCA say that by renewing you accept the changes. A policy on that form renews on its own unless you cancel. So if you do nothing, you have agreed.

You can say no, but the choice is a bad one. A new insurer will treat conditions already in the vet record as pre-existing (more on the trap). The owner of a pet with a chronic illness accepts the new terms or loses cover for that illness.

There is also an asymmetry. At MetLife, a cut in cover at renewal applies to conditions the pet already has, while an increase applies only to new ones. You can go down, but you cannot go back up for the current illness.

Examples

MetLife, Arizona and California: the age factor rises 4 to 7 times

MetLife’s Arizona rate manual (SERFF filing META-134597334, in use since 1 September 2025 for new and renewal policies) multiplies the illness-and-injury premium by a breed-and-age factor. The actuarial memo explains that the factors estimate the change in cost of vet care “as the Pet ages”, and adds: “Each insured renews at the then current approved rates and options available to them on their renewal date.”

  • French Bulldog (group S3): 1.599 at age 0 and 1.451 at ages 1–3. From age 4 to 12 the factor rises 14–26% a year, then about 5% a year to 14. From 14 it stays at 6.757 (the table row for ages 10 to 19+: “S3 4.567 5.296 6.141 6.450 6.757 6.757 6.757 6.757 6.757 6.757”). That is 4.2 times the age-0 factor and 4.7 times the cheapest years.
  • Mixed-breed cat (group Mixed Feline): 1.010 at age 0, 0.870 at ages 1–2, 4.698 at 14 and 7.228 from 17. That is 7.2 times the age-0 factor and 8.3 times the cheapest years.

General rate changes come on top. The same filing raised rates by 37% on average in September 2025 (that increase is already in these September 2025 rates). The manual also allows a yearly inflation add-on: “A trend factor of up to 15% per year may be used to account for industry trends and inflation.”

In California MetLife files the same age curve (filing 25-2234). There the regulator objected to the add-on: under California regulation, “baking in any automatic inflation/trend factor for loss propensity in the rate order of calculation” is not permissible. MetLife removed it. The Arizona manual keeps it.

The manual has a cap, but a temporary one: “Renewal rates will be capped for 1 year at 50% and then go to the full filed rate. Any revisions to the policy will nullify this rate cap” (p.3). Age alone would not reach it anyway: the largest yearly step for the French Bulldog is +25.6%, from age 4 to 5. The age factor applies only to illness and injury; the preventive-care add-on is not rated by age.

The law does not stand in the way. Arizona has no pet insurance law. Rates there are use-and-file (A.R.S. §20-385): the regulator, DIFI, only “Acknowledged” the filing and did not approve it. The NAIC model act, which the state pet insurance laws follow, only requires the insurer to disclose whether it raises premiums as the pet ages.

Source: MetLife Pet Manual – AZ, Breed & Age Factors pp.26–27, rating formula p.2, rate capping p.3, Trend Factor p.32; MetLife Pet Actuarial Memo – AZ pp.1–2 (SERFF META-134597334). California: MetLife filing 25-2234 (SERFF META-134710068) with the California Department of Insurance, objection letter of 17 November 2025.

MetLife: a cut in cover at renewal reaches conditions you already have

MetLife policy form PET21-01-V. We read the Ohio sample and the “NW” edition; the text is the same in both. MetLife’s Arizona rate filing names the same form, but we could not open an Arizona copy. MetLife also has a 2025 form filing in Arizona that we could not open; its wording may differ. On its Arizona page MetLife says there is no substantive difference from other states.

  • “A benefit decrease upon renewal will apply to any Illness or Injury of an insured Pet while the renewal policy is in effect, even if the Illness or Injury first manifested itself under a Prior Policy.” A decrease means a lower annual limit, a lower reimbursement percentage or a higher deductible.
  • “A Benefit Increase upon renewal will apply to any Illness or Injury that first manifests itself after the effective date of the Benefit Increase.”

The upshot: if you cut your cover to ride out a price increase, cover for the current illness goes down too. You cannot bring it back for that illness.

The policy itself gives MetLife no explicit right to cut your cover at renewal: it describes only decreases you ask for. It does let MetLife change premium rates at renewal, with written notice of an increase at least 30 days before the policy ends. But the Arizona actuarial memo warns: “Rates and options available are not guaranteed beyond the current renewal period.” So the plan option you hold may not be offered at the next renewal. That is a possibility, not a rule in the policy. The Arizona rate manual softens it: a discontinued option “may still be available to a policyholder on renewal if already included in their policy” (p.1). The “not guaranteed” sentence is also in MetLife’s California filing 25-2234.

MetLife may decline to renew with written notice “at least 30 days prior to the date the Policy will end”. The policy requires no reason. In Arizona, Order 13A-071-INS (Exhibit B, item 10) takes pet insurance policies out of the cancellation and nonrenewal article (A.R.S. §20-1671 and following). So 30 days is all the owner gets.

Sources: MetLife Pet Insurance Policy PET21-01-V, Ohio sample: “Changes to Coverage” and “Premium Rates on Renewal”, p.10; “Policy Period, Cancellation, Renewal, and Non-Renewal”, p.11; the “NW” edition of the same form; MetLife’s Arizona page; MetLife Arizona actuarial memo, SERFF META-134597334, section 3 “Renewability Clause”, p.1; MetLife Pet Manual – AZ, p.1.

Figo, Arizona: the new terms arrive in the renewal notice

Figo’s policy (Independence American Insurance Company), form IAIC FPI POL 1025 for Arizona:

  • “We may change the premium, policy terms, benefit limits, conditions and/or other policy parameters at renewal. You will be notified of all changes within the renewal notice.” The Arizona form sets no minimum notice period. Figo’s Illinois form promises 60 days. Arizona has no law that adds one.
  • Diminishing Deductible. The annual deductible falls by $50 for each year without a claim, down to $0. One paid claim, other than for preventive care, sends it back: “the Policy Annual Deductible will be returned to its original Policy Annual Deductible amount for the following renewal term and the process will start over.”
  • Discounts. “These discounts may be altered, changed, modified, revised, discontinued, or terminated at any time by the Company at its discretion, upon thirty (30) days written notice to You.” Not only at renewal.

The same renewal clause is in Figo’s forms for Texas, Indiana, Pennsylvania and Washington, and in Illinois with the 60-day promise added.

Source: Figo Pet Insurance Policy, IAIC FPI POL 1025, Arizona: Part III item 4 “Diminishing Deductible” (p.5); Part VI “Renewal Notice” (p.8) and “Premium Discounts” (p.10).

Embrace, Illinois and most states: “notified in writing”, no time given

Embrace V6 is its national policy. The state picker on Embrace’s site maps 48 states to V6, including Illinois, Arizona, Texas, Pennsylvania, Washington, New Jersey and California.

  • “We may change the premium, Reimbursement Percentage amounts, Deductible, policy terms and conditions at Renewal. You will be notified of changes in writing.” How many days before renewal is not stated.
  • The site footer: “Premium may increase due to the age of your pet at renewal” and “Premium may change based on your home address.”
  • In its disclosure form INDPP (01/23) Embrace names three possible reasons for a premium increase: claim history, the pet’s age and moving. Embrace’s California disclosure (form 2016.C.CA.1, p.2), however, says: “Premiums do not increase due to claim history.” The two documents say different things.
  • For Embrace, not paying is what counts as declining: “Failure to pay the required Renewal or continuation premium when due shall mean that you have not accepted our offer.”
  • Getting cover back is costly. If you lower your deductible, raise the annual maximum or reimbursement percentage, or add exam or medication cover, “the Illness Waiting Period and the determination of Pre-existing Conditions reset as of the date of the Coverage change”. According to Embrace’s FAQ, anything that started before the upgrade becomes pre-existing, “whether a claim was submitted and covered for it or not”.
  • For nonrenewal V6 promises notice “at least thirty (30) days before the end of the policy period”. The older V5 form (Kansas, New Mexico, South Carolina) promises 60.

Illinois law may limit part of this. As we read it, 215 ILCS 5/143.17 covers all personal-lines policies, including pet insurance sold to an individual. We found no regulator guidance confirming that.

  • If an insurer changes deductibles or coverage for a whole line of business, it must give written notice at least 60 days before the renewal date (143.17(b-5)). The rule does not cover premium increases or changes to a single policy.
  • Nonrenewal notice must be at least 30 days now (V6 meets that) and 60 days from 1 January 2027 (P.A. 104-534). V6’s 30 days would then be too short, and the policy’s “Conformity to State Statutes” clause should substitute 60.
  • No Illinois law limits renewal price increases or the reset after an upgrade.

Sources: Embrace Pet Health Insurance V6: “Policy Renewal”, “Increasing Coverage”, “Nonrenewal”; the page footer. The same text is in filed form PET00 (02/24), Conditions items 4, 8 and 21, pp.11–12 (California, SERFF AMMH-134910014). Insurer Disclosure of Important Policy Provisions INDPP (01/23), p.1; Embrace’s California disclosure 2016.C.CA.1, p.2; Embrace FAQ, “Can I change my coverage later?”.

Pennsylvania: four policies, four different catches

All four Pennsylvania policies we read let the insurer change the terms at renewal. They differ in whether you get advance notice and in how your agreement is counted.

  • Nationwide (VS-G-15-PA (9-24), §19.D, p.11): “We may make changes to this policy. If we do, we will send you written notice thirty days before the end of the current policy term or at the time required by the law of your state of residence. You accept these changes by renewing this policy.” Form VS-G-11-PA (9-24), §12.D, p.7, has the same clause, worded with “your policy”. The only one of the four to set a lead time. Its disclosure IDIP-MPI-PA (9-24), item 5, says the renewal premium “may be affected by medical claim paid counts and amounts from the previous 18-month period”.
  • ASPCA (Independence American, PET-P-20000-PA-0425, p.8): “Coverage and rates are subject to change at renewal. Your renewal declarations page will specify the coverage and rates that apply. You accept these changes by renewing your policy.” No lead time.
  • Figo (IAIC FPI POL PA 0424, p.10): the same clause as in Arizona. No lead time, and nothing on how changes are accepted.
  • Embrace (V6): see above. No lead time; not paying means declining.

In fairness: Figo’s and ASPCA’s Pennsylvania disclosures promise not to cut cover or raise the premium because of the policyholder’s claims. Figo: “We do not reduce coverage or increase premiums based on the policyholder’s claim history.” ASPCA: “We will not reduce coverage or increase premium due to claims history.” For them a change would apply to the whole plan, not to one sick pet. Nationwide (18 months of paid claims) and Embrace (claim history, per its disclosure) can raise the price because of claims.

The law creates tension, not a ban. Pennsylvania has a pet insurance law (Act 2024-19, 40 Pa.C.S. §§4701–4711). §4702 takes its definition of renewal from the Unfair Insurance Practices Act: a renewal must provide coverage “at least equal” to the old policy. Figo’s and ASPCA’s Pennsylvania forms quote that definition themselves, while the renewal clause in the same forms allows cover to be changed. Yet §4705(a)(6) only requires the insurer to disclose whether it reduces coverage or raises premiums based on claims, the pet’s age or a move. So the law seems to assume that some such changes are allowed if disclosed.

Our reading: a policy with reduced cover may not count as a renewal at all. But that cuts both ways, because the protections that attach to a renewal would then not apply: a covered condition cannot become pre-existing at renewal (§4706), and no waiting period applies to a renewal (§4702). We found no regulator guidance. Embrace V6 uses the looser NAIC model wording, “substantially similar”. Nationwide’s Pennsylvania forms do not define renewal.

Pennsylvania has no portability. You can switch insurers, but the new one will exclude a chronic illness as pre-existing.

Sources: Embrace V6; Figo, IAIC FPI POL PA 0424, Renewal Notice p.10, definition 44 p.5; Nationwide VS-G-15-PA (9-24), §19.D, p.11; Nationwide VS-G-11-PA (9-24), §12.D, p.7; ASPCA, PET-P-20000-PA-0425, Renewal p.8, definition p.4; disclosures: Figo Pennsylvania, ASPCA PET-PA-Notice-0424-APHI (p.3), Nationwide IDIP-MPI-PA (9-24) (item 5).

New Jersey: Fetch gives 30 to 120 days’ notice, Pumpkin and Spot set no time

  • Fetch (AXIS Insurance Company, GPTM 050 PML NJ 0326 A, section VII item 11, p.16): “We may change the premium, maximum annual policy coverage, co-pay amounts, deductibles and policy terms and conditions at renewal.” Notice is in writing, “at least thirty (30) days but not more than one hundred-twenty (120) days before the date the renewal premium is due”. The same form lets Fetch decline to renew because of “adverse loss experience”.
  • Pumpkin and Spot (Independence American; Pumpkin’s form PET-P-20000-NJ-1024, Spot’s PET-P-20000-1024; section “Renewal”): “Coverage and rates are subject to change at renewal. Your renewal declarations page will specify the coverage and rates that apply. You accept these changes by renewing your policy.” The policy renews automatically unless you cancel, so doing nothing also counts as agreeing. The form sets no advance notice for changes. Nonrenewal notice will be sent “in accordance with your state’s requirements”.
  • Embrace also uses V6 in New Jersey (see above). Its renewal clause does not name the annual limit, but “policy terms and conditions” is broad.

The law does not limit renewal changes. New Jersey’s pet insurance act (P.L. 2025, c.224) takes effect on 1 January 2027. C.17:46D-7a(4) only requires disclosure of “whether the pet insurer reduces coverage or increases premiums based on the insured’s claim history, the age of the covered pet, or a change in the geographic location of the insured”. C.17:46D-5 defines a renewal as a policy with coverage “substantially similar” to the old one. A policy cut back a lot may not count as a renewal, but that reading is untested.

Healthy Paws works differently. Its sample policy LD-50812 (07/18) has no clause letting the insurer change the terms at renewal. On the premium it says: “Monthly premiums may change for all policyholders to reflect changes in the costs of veterinary medicine. We will notify you at least sixty (60) days in advance of such change.” And: “Your coverage, coinsurance, and deductible will not change due to your pet’s claims experience.”

The same wording turns up in other states. Fetch’s clause is in its forms for Arizona, Texas, California, Florida, Illinois and Washington. Independence American’s clause is in the Pumpkin, Spot and ASPCA forms for Arizona, Pennsylvania, Texas, California and Illinois. Nationwide’s clause 19.D is in form VS-G-15 for Arizona, Texas, Florida and California. We checked these copies by text search and did not re-read them in full.

Sources: Fetch, GPTM 050 PML NJ 0326 A, VII.11, p.16; Pumpkin, New Jersey sample policy, March 2026, Renewal, p.7; Spot, New Jersey sample policy, Renewal; Healthy Paws, LD-50812 (07/18), I.5–6, p.1; P.L. 2025, c.224.

Side by side: what can change and how you agree

Policy What can change at renewal Notice of changes How agreement is counted Claims and price
Embrace V6 Premium, reimbursement percentage, deductible, terms In writing, no time given (Illinois: 60 days by law, as we read it, for line-wide deductible or coverage changes) Not paying means declining May rise, per disclosure INDPP; California disclosure says no
Figo (Arizona, Pennsylvania) Premium, terms, limits, “other policy parameters”; discounts at any time In the renewal notice, no minimum (Illinois form: 60 days) Not stated Pennsylvania disclosure: no effect
Nationwide (Pennsylvania) “Changes to this policy”, no list 30 days before the term ends, or as state law requires By renewing Paid claims of the last 18 months may count
ASPCA (Pennsylvania) Coverage and rates Renewal declarations page, no minimum By renewing Pennsylvania disclosure: no effect
Pumpkin, Spot (New Jersey) Coverage and rates No time given By renewing, which is automatic Not covered by our check
Fetch (New Jersey) Premium, annual limit, co-pay, deductibles, terms 30 to 120 days before the renewal premium is due Not stated in the clause May decline to renew for “adverse loss experience”
Healthy Paws (New Jersey) The premium, for all policyholders; no clause on changing terms 60 days No term changes to accept Coverage, coinsurance and deductible do not change with the pet’s claims

Worked example: a French Bulldog and a mixed-breed cat at MetLife in Arizona

Take the age factor from MetLife’s Arizona manual and compare each age with age 0. We give no dollar prices: they depend on the ZIP code, limit and deductible. The factor shows how many times the illness-and-injury premium changes from age alone.

Age French Bulldog (S3) × age 0 Mixed-breed cat × age 0
0 1.599 1.00 1.010 1.00
1 1.451 0.91 0.870 0.86
5 1.849 1.16 1.084 1.07
7 2.778 1.74 1.570 1.55
10 4.567 2.86 2.467 2.44
12 6.141 3.84 3.262 3.23
14 6.757 4.23 4.698 4.65
17 6.757 4.23 7.228 7.16

If MetLife never changed its rates and nothing else in the policy changed, a French Bulldog insured as a puppy would pay 4.2 times as much for illness and injury cover at 14 as in its first year. A cat would pay 4.65 times as much at 14 and 7.2 times from 17. The rise is built into the rate itself: per the actuarial memo, the factors track the pet’s ageing, and each renewal is priced at the rates then in force. The manual itself does not say which age is used. On top come general rate increases and, if MetLife applies it, a trend add-on of up to 15% a year. More on MetLife is on its insurer page, and on Arizona on the state page.

What to do

  • Before buying, find the renewal clause in the policy (Renewal, Policy Renewal, Changes). Answer three questions: what the insurer can change, how many days’ notice you get, and how your agreement is counted. Of the forms we read, two have no clause letting the insurer change the terms at renewal: Healthy Paws in New Jersey (its premium may change for all policyholders at once, with 60 days’ notice) and MetLife (its policy lets it change only premium rates, but its rate filing says options are “not guaranteed”).
  • Ask about the age factor and find it in the rate filing (how to read a filing). Compare the cost over the pet’s whole life, not the first year (how prices are set, why prices rise).
  • Ask in writing whether claims affect the price and cover at renewal. In Pennsylvania, Figo and ASPCA promise in writing that they do not. Nationwide and Embrace (in its INDPP disclosure) say they can.
  • Read every renewal notice before the renewal date. Compare the premium, limit, deductible, reimbursement percentage and discounts with last year. At Nationwide and on the Independence American form used by Pumpkin, Spot and ASPCA, renewal by itself counts as agreeing.
  • Do not cut your cover at MetLife if your pet already has an illness. The cut will apply to that illness too, and raising cover again later will not restore it for that illness. At Embrace, raising cover restarts the pre-existing check.
  • Keep the policy and every renewal notice, with the dates you received them.
  • In Illinois, as we read the law, changes to deductibles or coverage across a whole line of business need written notice at least 60 days ahead (215 ILCS 5/143.17(b-5)). If notice came later, complain to the Illinois Department of Insurance.
  • In Pennsylvania, if a “renewal” gives less than before, ask the insurer and the Pennsylvania Insurance Department whether it counts as a renewal under §4702. We found no regulator answer to this question.
  • Before moving to another insurer, check what it will exclude (pre-existing conditions). A new policy will not cover a chronic illness.

Sources

History

  1. First published